Linux Year 1

I am not going to lie. Changing from windows to Linux was intimidating. I didn't know what to expect. All I had ever known was Windows. When I did make the switch google was my best friend. Yes google is my friend, and will be yours if you need him. So now it has been a year and I don't need Google that much, but I do refer from time to time. When I started I wanted to find the perfect operating system so I downloaded several ISO files and went to put them on a thumb drive. The process is a little bit more involved than just saying it. With Linux you download what ever the file is. You then unzip that file, which may have another file you must now make executable. Run that now executable command and watch your program fly. If not you may be missing dependencies.

Dependencies are files that programs must have to run correctly. Programs are built upon numerous commands and packages so that you the end user can do what you do best. Whatever operating system you are running is just a bunch of files, commands, and scripts from various programming languages. Now if you don't know there is a practice called open source. Open source is when you make available the source code and allow the public to modify it for the greater community. The community helps develop the product. Many programs in Linux are open source. Also many programs which are open source are also free or have a free version. This is something to take advantage of when just starting out and are trying to save money.

When I started a year ago I had began with Jammin Jellyfish. I also downloaded other operating systems to see the differences. Kali Linux was another favorite. It promotes cyber security, so I learned some of its tools as I fell into the beautiful abyss of technology. There are many others like CentOS, Manjaro, ArchLinux and several others that also have different package managers. Not to be to complicated, Linux has different package managers for Debian, Suse and RedHat. So it is best to try the main flavors to get a feel for all of what Linux is about. I highly suggest you start with Ubuntu 22.04. Until next time.